The Point-to-Point Authority (PPA) will be recruiting two independent Board Members to replace Tabitha Cave and current Chairman Simon Claisse who both step down at the end of the year. Therefore, they are now seeking applications for these positions and will be appointing the two new Independent members over the summer.

The current make-up of the Board is:

Simon Claisse Chairman – Independent Nominee
Richard Russell Jockey Club Nominee
Steven Astaire Chairman, PPSA
Richard Fuller Chairman, PPORA
Mike Felton MFHA

Nick Sutton Independent Nominee
Tabitha Cave Independent Nominee

Steven Astaire finishes his second permitted term of office as Chairman of the Secretaries’ Association (PPSA) in July and will be replaced on the PPA Board by current Vice-Chairman Stephen Howlett.

Interested applicants will need to be proposed and seconded by individuals involved in the participation and running of the sport, who will be required to supply, in addition to their name and contact details, a brief description of their involvement in the sport.

Candidates will need to enclose a brief CV, details of their involvement in Point-to-Pointing and a statement of not more than 100 words about what relevant knowledge, experience and expertise they would bring to the Board and ultimately the PPA.

Application forms can be obtained by contacting PPA Executive Clare Hazell ( and must be submitted for her attention by Friday 20 June. A shortlist will be made and candidates will be interviewed by a sub-committee of the Board on Wednesday 2 July at the Offices of the PPA in Trull, Gloucestershire.


The normal term of office for an Independent member of the Board is three years. Each independent member may serve for up to two terms consecutively, subject to being re-selected for a second term. After a minimum of a year off the Board, former Independent members may seek re-selection.

The Point-to-Point Authority Board includes a nominated representative from all the main “stakeholders” in Point-to-Pointing: Masters of Foxhounds Associations (MFHA), Point-to-Point Owners and Riders Association (PPORA), Point-to-Point Secretaries Association (PPSA) and Jockey Club. There are also three independent Nominees.