Previous winners of the Devon & Cornwall area classic race, The Westcountry Champion Chase at Buckfastleigh

TOTNES & BRIDGETOWN RACES COMPANY Totnes & Bridgetown Races, which dated from 1783, ceased to exist following the closure and requisition of their course at Totnes in 1939 but through the continued existence of the Company, they are able to assist both Point-to-Point Racing and Hunter Chasing.

The Company is pleased to continue its support of the Dart Vale & South Pool Harriers’ Point-to-Points at Buckfastleigh and at February 15th’s meeting is proud to sponsor “The Westcountry Champion Chase”, the Devon & Cornwall Area Classic Race which carries total prize money of £1000, with £700 to the Winner.

This race was first run at Buckfastleigh in 2002  as an Area Feature Race but achieved Devon & Cornwall Area Classic Race status in 2006 when the prize money was raised to £1000.

Winners to date include:

(£500 race)

Year Horse Owned by Ridden by
2002 Rimpton Boy Mrs E Hutchinson Miss Polly Gundry
2003 Mister Benjamin Mr P Nicholls Miss Chloe Roddick
2004 Hobbycyr Mr R Kelvin Hughes Miss Polly Gundry
2005 Sandy Duff Miss M McCarthy The Owner

 (£1000 race)

Year Horse Owned by Ridden by
2006 Finewood Mr R Woollacott, Mr L Chilcot & Mr C Elliott Mr Richard Woollacott
2007 Jalons Star Mr B Robarts The Owner
2008 Dare to Dream Mrs A Baker Mr Neil Harris
2009 Rockwithacaveman Mr R Pike Miss Polly Gundry
2010 Bishy Barnaby Mr C Firminger Mr Richard Woollacott
2011 Vintage Class Mr CWW Dupont Mr Michael Miller
2012 For the Stars Mrs E Worth & Ms A Argyrides Miss Jo Buck
2013 Lucette Annie Mr & Mrs C Humphrey Mr Darren Edwards
2014 Minella Stars Mr G & Mrs S Henderson Mr Robbie Henderson
2015 Blazing Whale Mr F Read & Mr E Walker Mr Robbie Henderson
2016 Kirkleigh Mrs Sue Trump; Tom Chanin
2017 Jepeck Mr Jon Pike Mr Jamie Thomas
2018 Rye Cross Mr Clive Bennett Mr Sam Jukes